TU Dresden RWTH Leibniz Institut

Vision

The rapid growth of the world's population is increasing the demand for built structures with a wide variety of functions. These are primarily built from mineral-bound materials such as cement.

Concrete is basically simple, fast and inexpensive to produce, it can take on almost any shape and is also used as a single building material in developing and emerging countries. It is by far the most important material for building housing and infrastructure.

Many billions of tonnes of sand and gravel are consumed annually for the production of concrete.

Not only the visible environmental impacts such as the extraction of sand and gravel, but also the production and further processing of cement account for approx. 8 % of man-made CO2 emissions.

 

 

We have to change these aspects of building in view of the limited raw material resources and an ever-increasing environmental impact! The infrastructure urgently needed in the future requires the construction of material-minimised building structures based on mineral-bound composites. New ways of thinking, changing proven patterns of thought are necessary to preserve our natural habitat and to reduce CO2 emissions as well as the enormous consumption of resources when building with concrete. New forms of construction and building structures, inspired by various fields of science and art, are to be developed. The aim is to develop a resource-efficient construction method based on components that are predominantly subjected to normal force, in order to design weight-minimised, high-performance and durable load-bearing structures of the future with a minimum amount of raw materials.

A good example of efficient, material-minimised load-bearing structures are the long-span shell structures whose heyday was in the last century. The lack of corrosion resistance of steel reinforcement and the complexity of fabrication were two reasons why these load-bearing systems were erected less and less frequently. High-performance materials such as textile or carbon concrete, which have been researched in depth over the past 25 years, are highly load-bearing and at the same time insensitive to corrosion. In addition to the weight reduction due to smaller concrete cover, a considerable amount of dead weight can be saved, especially due to the high mechanical performance of the material. At the moment, these high-performance materials are used exclusively as substitute materials. They are thought of and used in the same way as the more than 100-year-old design principles for reinforced concrete. The design and the structural implementation are still shaped by traditional thinking.

Even today, we need food for thought to find an adequate design language and construction method for our modern high-performance materials. Basic research is the basis for turning new technologies and materials into creative visions. Outstanding examples from modern architecture show that innovative building materials in combination with efficient calculation methods enable the construction of visionary buildings.

Research in the CRC/Transregio 280 aims to ensure that the new construction strategies can be applied to a wide range of building components and structures in the future. The main goal of the CRC/Transregio 280 is to research entirely new design and construction methods for innovative and sustainable structures in order to be able to efficiently use already existing high-performance materials such as carbon concrete for the first time.

The following core objectives are to be achieved:

  • Reduction of resource consumption and environmental impacts such as CO2 emissions through novel design and construction principles and even more efficient materials
  • longer period of use and extension of use through the use of particularly durable materials and robust construction methods as well as modularity
  • appealing aesthetic design language combined with a high degree of multifunctionality.

In the targeted twelve years of funding, the design, construction, testing and production of structures made of mineral building materials, also in combination with other materials, will be completely rethought. After the paradigm shift in concrete construction that has begun at the material level, a revolution in the thinking and design of structures is required.

For the project, the principle "form follows force" means finding an interdisciplinary approach for new algorithms and methods that include all process steps of a structure from design to production, including material and process development. Carbon reinforced concrete is a building material that can meet these requirements and will thus be the focus of the new construction strategies in the planned collaborative project. In this respect, the CRC/Transregio 280 builds on the previous state of knowledge, which on the one hand was largely developed through material-oriented basic research in CRC 528 and CRC 532, and on the other hand stems from singular practical projects and the research in the application-oriented project consortium C3 – Carbon Concrete Composite, which has set itself the goal of reducing barriers to market entry (including the creation of guidelines and approvals for carbon concrete products). In order to fully exploit the potential of new materials and methods, the decisive prerequisite is the integration of experts from different disciplines – in addition to civil engineering also from botany, mathematics and scientific architecture – who realise common approaches, perspectives and methods for a sustainable paradigm shift.

 

Scientific added value through cooperation between scientists from different fields of knowledge

The strength of the CRC/Transregio 280 is the interdisciplinary approach through the integration of experts from already established networks at two renowned research centres in Germany. Scientists from TU Dresden and RWTH Aachen University play a leading role worldwide in the field of carbon reinforced concrete. The additional support provided by the Leibnitz Institute of Polymer Research Dresden e.V. (IPF) lies in the design of the boundary layer between non-metallic reinforcement and mineral matrix.

Intensive cooperation between the researchers at both locations in CRC/Transregio 280 promotes Germany's international pioneering role in the field of these highly innovative and resource-efficient technologies.

 

Speaker of the CRC/Transregio 280 (Funding Period 2)

Spokesperson of CRC/Transregio 280
Steffen Marx
Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Technische Universität Dresden
Institute of Concrete Structures
01062 Dresden (Germany)
Deputy Spokesperson of CRC/Transregio 280
Rostislav Chudoba
Prof. Dr. habil.
RWTH Aachen University
Institute of Structural Concrete, Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 1
52074 Aachen (Germany)

Former Speaker of the CRC/Transregio 280 (Funding Period 1)

Manfred Curbach
Former Spokesperson of CRC/Transregio 280
Manfred Curbach
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h.
Technische Universität Dresden
Institute of Concrete Structures
D-01062 Dresden (Germany)
[Translate to English:] Josef Hegger
Former Deputy Spokesperson of CRC/Transregio 280
Josef Hegger
Prof. em. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E. h.
RWTH Aachen University
Institute of Structural Concrete, Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 1
D-51074 Aachen

Dresden location

Technische Universität Dresden
Institute of Concrete Structures
D-01062 Dresden (Germany)

www.tu-dresden.de

 

 

Dresden location

Leibniz-Institut für Polymerforschung
Dresden e. V.

Hohe Str. 6
D-01069 Dresden (Germany)

www.ipfdd.de

Aachen location

RWTH Aachen University
Institute of Structural Concrete
Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 1
D-52074 Aachen (Germany)

www.rwth-aachen.de

Hamburg location

Universität Hamburg
Botanischer Garten
Hesten 10
D-22609 Hamburg

https://www.botanischer-garten.uni-hamburg.de/

TU Dresden RWTH Leibniz Institut

Vision

Durch das rasante Wachstum der Weltbevölkerung steigt der Bedarf an gebauten Strukturen mit verschiedensten Funktionen. Diese werden vorrangig aus mineralisch gebundenen Materialien wie Zement errichtet.

Beton ist grundsätzlich einfach, schnell und kostengünstig in der Herstellung, es kann nahezu jede beliebige Form annehmen und wird als eingiger Baustoff auch flächendeckend in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern eingesetzt. Er stellt mit Abstand den wichtigsten Werkstoff zur Erstellung von Wohnraum und Infrastruktur dar.

Für die Herstellung von Beton werden jährlich viele Milliarden Tonnen Sand und Kies verbraucht.

Nicht nur die sichtbaren Umweltbelastungen wie den Abbau von Sand und Kies, sondern auch die Herstellung und Weiterverarbeitung des Zements macht ca. 8 % der vom Menschen verursachten CO2-Emissionen aus.

 

Diese Aspekte des Bauens müssen wir in Anbetracht der begrenzten Rohstoffvorkommen und einer immer mehr steigenden Umweltbelastung ändern! Die zukünftig dringend benötigte Infrastruktur erfordert das Bauen materialminimierter Gebäudestrukturen auf Basis mineralisch gebundener Komposite. Notwendigerweise sind neue Denkweisen, die Änderung bewährter Denkmuster nötig, um unseren natürlichen Lebensraum zu bewahren und den CO2-Ausstoß sowie den enormen Ressourcenverbrauch beim Bauen mit Beton zu reduzieren. Neue Konstruktionsformen und Baustrukturen, inspiriert aus verschiedenen Wissenschaftsbereichen und der Kunst, sind zu erarbeiten. Ziel ist die Entwicklung einer ressourceneffizienten Bauweise auf Basis von überwiegend auf Normalkraft beanspruchten Bauteilen, um mit einer minimalen Menge an Ausgangsstoffen gewichtsminimierte, leistungsfähige und dauerhafte Tragwerke der Zukunft zu gestalten.

Ein gutes Beispiel für effiziente, materialminimierte Tragstrukturen sind die weitgespannten Schalentragwerke, deren Blütezeit im vergangenen Jahrhundert lag. Die fehlende Korrosionsbeständigkeit der Stahlbewehrung und die Komplexität der Herstellung waren zwei Gründe, warum diese Tragsysteme immer seltener errichtet wurden. Die in den vergangenen 25 Jahren vertieft erforschten Hochleistungswerkstoffe wie Textil- oder Carbonbeton sind hoch tragfähig und gleichzeitig korrosionsunempfindlich. Neben der Gewichtsreduzierung durch kleinere Betonabdeckung kann vor allem durch die hohe mechanische Leistungsfähigkeit des Werkstoffs ein erheblicher Anteil des Eigengewichtes eingespart werden. Im Moment werden diese Hochleistungsmaterialien ausschließlich als Ersatzwerkstoff genutzt. Sie werden analog der über 100 Jahre alten Entwurfsprinzipien für Stahlbeton gedacht und verbaut. Der Entwurf und die konstruktive Durchbildung sind immer noch vom traditionellen Denken geprägt.

Auch heute brauchen wir Denkanstöße, um eine adäquate Formensprache und Konstruktionsweise für unsere modernen Hochleistungswerkstoffe zu finden. Die Grundlagenforschung ist Basis, um neue Technologien und Materialien in kreative Visionen umzusetzen. Herausragende Beispiele aus der Architektur der Neuzeit zeigen, dass innovative Baustoffe in Verbindung mit leistungsfähigen Berechnungsmethoden die Errichtung visionärer Bauwerke ermöglichen.
Die Forschung im SFB/TRR 280 zielt darauf ab, dass die neuen Konstruktionsstrategien in Zukunft für eine große Bandbreite von Bauteilen und Strukturen anwendbar sind. Das Hauptziel des SFB/TRR 280 ist es, gänzlich neue Entwurfs- und Konstruktionsmethoden für innovative und nachhaltige Bauwerke zu erforschen, um bereits vorhandene Hochleistungsmaterialien wie Carbonbeton erstmals effizient einsetzten zu können.

Folgende Kernziele sollen erreicht werden:

  • Senkung von Ressourcenverbrauch und Umweltauswirkungen wie z. B. CO2-Emissionen durch neuartige Entwurfs- und Konstruktionsprinzipien und noch effizientere Materialien;
  • längerer Nutzungszeitraum und Nutzungserweiterung durch den Einsatz besonders dauerhafter Materialien und robuste Konstruktionsweisen sowie Modularität;
  • ansprechende ästhetische Formensprache, verbunden mit einem hohen Grad an Multifunktionalität.

In den angestrebten zwölf Jahren Förderung werden Entwurf, Konstruktion, Erprobung und Herstellung von Bauwerken aus mineralischen Baustoffen, auch in Kombination mit anderen Werkstoffen, vollständig neue gedacht. Nach dem auf Materialebene begonnenen Paradigmenwechsel im Betonbau ist eine Revolution im Denken und Entwerfen von Bauwerken erforderlich.

 

„Form follows force“ bedeutet für das Projekt, einen interdisziplinären Ansatz für neue Algorithmen und Methoden zu finden, die alle Prozessschritte eines Bauwerks vom Entwurf bis zur Herstellung inklusive der Material- und Verfahrensentwicklung mit einbezieht. Carbonbeton ist ein Baustoff, der diese aufgezeigten Anforderungen erfüllen kann und so für die neuen Konstruktionsstrategien der Schwerpunkt im geplanten Verbundvorhaben sein wird. Hierbei baut der SFB/TRR 280 auf dem bisherigen Kenntnisstand auf, der einerseits zu einem großen Teil durch materialorientierte Grundlagenforschung im SFB 528 und im SFB 532 erarbeitet wurde, andererseits aus singulären Praxisprojekten und den Forschungen im anwendungsorientierten Projektkonsortium C3 – Carbon Concrete Composite herrührt, welches sich den Abbau von Markteintrittsbarrieren (u. a. Erstellen von Richtlinien u. Zulassungen für Carbonbetonprodukte) zum Ziel gesetzt hat. Um das Potenzial neuer Materialien und Methoden voll auszunutzen, ist die maßgebliche Voraussetzung das Einbinden von Expert*innen aus verschiedenen Fachgebieten – neben dem Bauingenieurwesen auch aus Botanik, Mathematik und Wissenschaftsarchitektur –, die gemeinsame Denkansätze, Sichtweisen und Methoden für einen nachhaltigen Paradigmenwechsel verwirklichen.

Wissenschaftlicher Mehrwert durch Kooperation von Wissenschaftler*innen aus verschiedensten Wissensbereichen
Der interdisziplinäre Ansatz durch die Einbindung von Expert*innen aus bereits etablierten Netzwerken an zwei renommierten Forschungszentren in Deutschland ist die Stärke des SFB/TRR 280. Wissenschaftler*innen der TU Dresden und der RWTH Aachen nehmen weltweit eine führende Rolle auf dem Gebiet des Carbonbetons ein. Die zusätzliche Unterstützung durch das Leibnitz-Institut für Polymerforschung Dresden e.V. (IPF) liegt im Design der Grenzschicht zwischen nichtmetallischer Bewehrung und mineralischer Matrix.

Eine intensive Kooperation der Forscher beider Standorte im SFB/TRR 280 befördert die internationale Vorreiterrolle Deutschlands im Bereich dieser hochinnovativen und ressourceneffizienten Technologien.

Sprecher des SFB/Transregios

Manfred Curbach
Sprecher des SFB/TRR 280
Manfred Curbach
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h.
Technische Universität Dresden
Institut für Massivbau
01062 Dresden
Josef Hegger
Stellvertretender Sprecher des SFB/TRR 280
Josef Hegger
Prof. Dr.-Ing.
RWTH Aachen University, Lehrstuhl und Institut für Massivbau
Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 1
52074 Aachen

Standort Dresden

Technische Universität Dresden
Institut für Massivbau
01062 Dresden

www.tu-dresden.de

 

Standort Dresden

Leibniz-Institut für Polymerforschung
Dresden e. V.

Hohe Straße 6
01069 Dresden

www.ipfdd.de

Standort Aachen

RWTH AACHEN UNIVERSITY
Lehrstuhl und Institut für Massivbau
Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 1
52074 Aachen

www.rwth-aachen.de